Goal Setting

Something Splendid is now over at http://somethingsplendidblog.com. Come check us out over there for even more great ideas.

It is hard to believe that yet another year has flown by. It seems like just last week we were welcoming in 2013. One of the most important things in order for me to set new goals for the year is to reflect back on the past year. What went well? What did I accomplish? What were the best moments? I know a lot of us fall into the habit of setting goals and working hard on them for a few weeks and then completely forgetting them later. WRITE the goals down! I cannot stress this enough. When things are written down, they are more easily remembered. I also make sure they are written down in a few places, especially one I can actually see daily so that I know what I need to be working on.

Sometimes setting goals is an overwhelming process. We think there are so many things to work on and too many things to get done that we just forgo the goal setting process altogether. I found this template that I feel sums up a lot of different aspects. I like being able to categorize the goals I am setting so I know which aspect in my life I need to work on.
goals                                                                                                                      source
smart goals
Another great rule I follow is setting SMART goals.
S-specific- What are you actually working towards? What do you need to do to reach this goal? Exactly what do you want to accomplish?
M-measurable-How will you determine if this goal is met?
A- achievable- Is the goal you are setting achievable?
R-realistic-Will you actually be able to accomplish this goal?
T-timely- Set a time frame on when you would like this goal to be met. Push yourself

I have found myself setting unrealistic goals many times before. However when I follow this template, I am aware of what my specific goal is and what the time frame is. I am more likely to achieve my goal.

Goals help us reach our potential. They help us be the people we want to be and accomplish things we never thought we could imagine. New Year, New Goals, there is time to do the things in life that you want to.

EMILYsig

Leave a Reply

