DIY Ugly Sweater Ideas

Something Splendid is now over at http://somethingsplendidblog.com. Come check us out over there for even more great ideas.

There is something about dressing up that makes going to parties even more fun! Ugly sweater parties are a must go-to during the holiday season.  This year I wanted to make an ugly sweater.  I had seen this idea around pinterest and thought I would give it a try.  Trust me when I say it was super easy and cheap.

I bought two 12 pack ornaments from the dollar store along with a tree topper.  I also found some leftover tinsel from decorating our house that I was able to use.  I bought the green sweater from Savers for $3!

photo-2

I then wrapped the tinsel around the sweater until it was covering the whole sweater.  I tied the ornaments onto the front of the sweater where I wanted them and then pinned the tinsel onto the sweater and next thing you know I have an ugly sweater! It took me about thirty minutes, cost me $6, and was a huge success!

photo-22

photo 3

Onto another ugly sweater idea. Emily made hers from a sweatshirt she got at target for $5. She used green felt she had left over from the Felt Christmas Tree. The tree was decorated with pom poms, bells, bows and felt presents all found at Michael’s for 70% off totaling $3.00. It is hard to tell but there are actual lights strung on the tree. Those were leftover from some signs we made this year, but they are battery operated poster lights that can also be found at Michael’s. This sweater cost $8.00 and was totally worth every penny. The tree was safety pinned onto the shirt so the sweatshirt can be worn again.

photo 4

and one last idea….if you are not into the whole ugly sweater thing or can’t find/make one. Go for an over the top- if the hunger games celebrated christmas at capital-headdress that will also be a huge hit. Also found at Michael’s for about $2.00

photo-1

One thought on “DIY Ugly Sweater Ideas

Leave a Reply

